Geoff Johns (W), Jason Fabok (A), Brad Anderson (CA)

Cover By: Jason Fabok and Brad Anderson

Publisher: DC Comics

Price: $5.99

So, we’re at the big climactic conclusion to the year-long event of The Darkseid War. The Justice League is facing off against Grail and an Anti-Life Equation powered Steve Trevor. The Crime Syndicate watches on with the newly-born child of Superwoman, Alexander Luthor.

I’ve said this once before, but this story has gone on far, far too long. My stamina for this story has beyond worn out. The best part of this series is Jason Fabok’s consistently gorgeous artwork.

“Too long” is a perfect descriptor for this issue as well. Granted, it needs to have a lot of content to justify the $5.99 price tag. However, this comic just felt like a lot of noise and setting up for Rebirth. The battle scenes are awesome, again thanks to Fabok’s art, but it all just feels… cold. I could not really bring myself to care about what was going on. The characters are only there in visual representation. Most are kind of bland in this issue. The only ones that have nice little moments are Hal Jordan, Jessica Cruz, Big Barda, and Mister Miracle.

The “plot twists” and “big reveals” are overabundant. The book feels like it is constantly trying to top itself. Dark Seid himself makes a reappearance, but the reason for it was a bit odd.

Also, I just really, really do not find Grail interesting as a villain.

I love Geoff Johns’ work. He’s a fantastic writer, but this book had too much plot and not enough character. It’s all super-powered smack downs and contrived plot twists.

I wanted this story to have a satisfying conclusion. I didn’t want it to bore me, but it did.

I just don’t have much more to say about this one. It really didn’t do anything for me. I couldn’t connect to the characters. I couldn’t care about the conflict. If you feel that you must read the story, feel free to. If you’ve been enjoying the story thus far, then you’ll like this issue too. I’d say give it a pass otherwise.

Final Score: 4/10

My Discussion on the Darkseid War Story

A History of Shazam

A History of Cyborg

A History of Green Lantern

A History of the Flash

4 thoughts on “Justice League #50

Leave a Reply

